CBD is a non-psychoactive cannabinoid that is found in both hemp and marijuana plants but the CBD manufacturers mainly extract it from the hemp plant. This is because hemp contains only a small amount of THC, the psychoactive cannabinoid. Also, THC is listed among controlled substances in many states.
In this article, we will take a look at the legality of CBD in the state of Nebraska. Read along to know more.
CBD Laws In Nebraska
According to the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act, which was signed into law in 2019 by Republican Gov. Pete Ricketts, all hemp-derived products with less than 0.3 % THC are legal in the state. That means both the Farm Bill of 2019 and the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act are in line. Therefore, it is possible for the people of Nebraska to buy CBD oil derived from the hemp plant, which contains only less than 0.3 % THC.
Before passing the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act, the state legislature has passed a hemp agricultural pilot program which allowed the state Department of Agriculture or approves state universities to cultivate industrial hemp. According to the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act, the Department of Agriculture has to submit hemp cultivation regulations for federal approval. They have to do it because the Farm Bill demands it.
It is important to note that the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act does not name CBD directly. However, it does state that any derivative, cannabinoid or extract of the hemp that contains less than 0.3 % THC is legal. This slight lack of clarity has created some small confusion among legislatures and prospective CBD sellers in the state about the legality of CBD.
How To Get A License For Hemp Cultivation In Nebraska?
If you are planning on starting the cultivation, processing, and handling of industrial hemp in the state of Nebraska, you need to first file an application with the state Department of Agriculture and pay the necessary fees for the various activities.
Before you sell your hemp and hemp-derived products, they should be tested by a state-licensed testing facility for the THC concentration. You should note that the sale of unapproved CBD products in Nebraska is illegal. Also, the cultivation or selling of controlled substances in Nebraska is illegal and if caught, you will get a prison sentence of 1-20 years and a fine of $25,000.